Waiting on a Silent Night

I recently watched “The Nativity Story.” I watched Mary through the story and I have spent a lot of time reflecting since. Here was a woman who was told by God that she’s going to have His child. She is not married and really has no idea if her fiancée is going to take this news well much less believe her. She could be killed by the people of her town when this news gets out. She sits quietly believing that it’s all going to be okay and waits.

Then late in her pregnancy – about the point where I decided that I wasn’t interested in doing ANYTHING – she is called to go on a 3 day journey on the back of a donkey. She packs her bag and rides quietly over hideous terrain – and waits.

They get to Bethlehem and folks are less than hospitable to her situation. She sits on a donkey – and waits.

Finally a place is found for her – a smelly stable with a bunch of animals. The baby comes and all the visitors come and go. Angels sing and it’s a great moment. You know what Mary did? She sat and she pondered all the wonders in her heart.

At no point in the story did Mary start to whine and pull her hair out and race from place to place trying to make everyone else happy. She could have run away from home. She could have committed Hari Kari (or whatever the Hebrew version was). She could have completely lost her mind. She sat in peace and allowed God to do his will.

Things at our house are not the best. We have bills to pay; we have all the Christmas preparations to make; hubby has a lot of long hours between now and Christmas. I have decided to sit quietly and wait. I don’t know what I’m getting my children or my hubby for Christmas or even where the money is coming from to make those purchases. I don’t know what I’m cooking for Christmas dinner. I don’t even know who is eating Christmas dinner with us! In all of this I will sit quietly – and wait.

I got my gift 2000 years ago when Mary sat quietly and waited on the Lord.

****************************
I wrote this essay a few years ago and only recently found it as I rummaged through files on my old computer.  It has renewed its impact on my heart as I sit here and get kicked or punched or head butted in the ribs by a fourth little being inside.  She wasn’t on my holiday to do list.  She wasn’t on my life to do list in all honesty.  I know in my heart that she is going to bless our family in her own little way.  Yet in the midst of all the chaos and hustle and hurry I am left no choice but to wait.

So I find myself in kinship with Mary.  I ponder in my heart why God choose this moment for our family.  I wait for an angel with explanation.  I wait for a silent night.

About Sarah

I hate when people ask me "who are you?" because it points out to me that I am about as average as you can get. I am a mom of four children- from middle school down to kindergarten. That said, my world consists of laundry, vacuuming, washing dishes and cooking meals just like every other mom on the planet when I'm not at work. So what makes me different? Why should you read this blog? Because I'm a mom just like you who struggles daily to see, follow and live the life God intends for me. If my struggle, walk, attempts and failures can help you on your path and walk, then I am doing what the Father has asked me to do. Amen? Amen and pass the Lysol!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

