A Tired Momma’s Prayer

Well, our baby Bean is almost 6 months old.  Her entertainment committee recently went back to school (for the two biggest bigs) and to school for the first time (bottom middle big).  That leaves only Mommy to keep her busy during the day and judging by the nocturnal activity we have been experiencing as of late, I am failing miserably.  This morning in particular I am feeling the effects of a very busy night of diaper changes, feedings (courtesy of an active growth spurt), and pacifiers wanderings.

But sleep deprivation does funny things to my brain.  It’s either that or the abundance of caffeine coursing through my system.  Either way, I was feeling very creative this morning when I penned the following.  A little prayer for all my fellow mommies in the trenches of life with a newborn…

A Tired Momma’s Prayer
So I have this little baby
Who didn’t sleep last night.
I haven’t brushed my teeth
And I know I look a fright.

She doesn’t want to play
And she doesn’t want to nap
And I feel my patience fraying.
Lord, please don’t let me snap.

“They are only little once.”
“It won’t always be this hard.”
All sayings I would believe
If I wasn’t so doggone “tard.”

So I pray this little prayer
For every mom who is awake
In the wee hours of the morning
And watching the new day break.

God, all we really ask
Is for a little rest
So that we can be a momma
Loving at her very best.

And if that just can’t happen;
If the baby must stay up;
Then all we ask for next
Is constant coffee in our cup!

Overflow us with your strength.
Flood us with your power
And please dearest Father,
At least let us get a shower.

Hugs and snuggles are delightful.
Coos and giggles are the best.
But what would really thrill our souls
Is a full night of deep rest.

Thank you Lord for this sweet baby.
I wouldn’t trade her for a thing.
And thank you that she fell asleep
Finally napping in her swing.

About Sarah

I hate when people ask me "who are you?" because it points out to me that I am about as average as you can get. I am a mom of four children- from middle school down to kindergarten. That said, my world consists of laundry, vacuuming, washing dishes and cooking meals just like every other mom on the planet when I'm not at work. So what makes me different? Why should you read this blog? Because I'm a mom just like you who struggles daily to see, follow and live the life God intends for me. If my struggle, walk, attempts and failures can help you on your path and walk, then I am doing what the Father has asked me to do. Amen? Amen and pass the Lysol!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Tired Momma’s Prayer

Leave a Reply

