When a Hurricane Rages

People call them “storms of life” but storms eventually run out of energy.  I’m not a science teacher or a weather guru of any kind.  I have a fascination with severe weather though.  I love hurricane season and watching tracks and the interactions of land air pressure systems with the systems moving in off the ocean. Yes, I am a self proclaimed geek.

In my geekness I have learned that when the hurricane gets over land and can’t feed off the ocean, it loses steam.  It weakens and eventually fades away.  Not before creating its havoc, but it fades as it moves away from initial impact.

So explain to me why there are times in life that just feel like a perpetual hurricane churning around me.  Never losing steam, sometimes gaining strength, and never moving on.  They just sit and pound on me, my husband, my family.  There is an eye in a hurricane and occasionally I get to see it – a moment when it feels like maybe the storm is over.  Maybe, just maybe, we have survived.  But then the back of the eye comes and the storm gets stronger still until I feel like I am being crushed.

In this moment I find myself questioning God.  When are You going to stand up Jesus and say, “Peace, be still!” like you did on Galilee?  Why are You still asleep?  Don’t you know we are drowning here?  I relate very well to the disciples.  Fear grips me.  I feel my boat being tossed and broken.  And I want to know, “Do you not care that we are perishing?” (Mark 5:38 NASB)

But then I read a little further.  “Why are you afraid?  How is it that you have no faith?” (v. 40) And I find myself relating again when the disciples ask each other “Who is this, that even the wind and the sea obey Him?” (v. 41)

Do I know Him?  Really know Him?  The disciples had 3 years in His physical presence and they still didn’t know Him.  I have had years in church and school and Bible studies, and I still feel like moments like this hurricane prove to me that I don’t know Him.  If I knew Him, would I waver?  Would I question His intentions for me?

If I knew Him, wouldn’t Jeremiah 29:11 come naturally?
“‘For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.'”

Ahhh, but then I read on to verses 12 and 13.  “Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me and I will listen to you.  You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.”

I love words.  There is a real difference between active and passive words.  It’s easy to believe that God has plans.  But He’s asking me for action.  Call upon Me.  Come to Me. Pray to Me.  Seek Me.  Find Me.  Search for Me.

And isn’t that what the disciples did?  Even in their own imperfect way?  They went to Him in the boat.  They knew who could help.  And still they were surprised when He actually came through.

So life’s hurricanes rage.  Hurricane Finances.  Hurricane Health.  Hurricane Discouragement.  Hurricane Anxiety.  Hurricane Family Strife.  Name it what you like.  I know who to go to.  I actively go.  And when I get there I will know Him and I will see the peace on the other side of the storm.

About Sarah

I hate when people ask me "who are you?" because it points out to me that I am about as average as you can get. I am an at home mom of four children- three schoolage, and a toddler. That said, my world consists of laundry, vacuuming, washing dishes and cooking meals just like every other mom on the planet. So what makes me different? Why should you read this blog? Because I'm a mom just like you who struggles daily to see, follow and live the life God intends for me. If my struggle, walk, attempts and failures can help you on your path and walk, then I am doing what the Father has asked me to do. Amen? Amen and pass the Lysol!
This entry was posted in Faith, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

