Were those…Bunny Ears?!

At first I thought I was seeing things.  So much so that I almost drove off the road trying to squint through my rearview mirror at the car I had just passed.  It couldn’t be.  I mean, we have all seen the reindeer horns and Rudolf nose on the cars at Christmas.  Those are almost a staple now, right?  But surely I did NOT just see a pink nose, bunny ears and a white tail on that car that just passed me!  Say it ain’t so Joe!

I was so incredulous as a matter of fact, that I came  home and Googled it.  I dare you to open a second window on your browser right now and Google images of a “bunny car.”  I’ll wait.

eastercost

Awesome, isn’t it?  And not in a good awesome kind of way!

But it brought back to my mind another blog post shared by a friend yesterday about the “overdone-ness” of holidays.  As pointed out by the author, every holiday seems to be ramping higher and higher.  New stuff to do.  More ways to celebrate.  And I had to ask myself why?  Why do we feel the need to build leprechaun traps, and move elves, and hide pickles, and dress our cars up?

What are we missing?

Every day joy.  Seems so simple, doesn’t it?  We make such a to do over all these holidays because our every days just seem so dull and boring.  When a holiday comes along, we jump at the chance to do something special.  I confess that just last week I made a HUGE stink over Pi Day.  You know, 3-14 or 3.14 or pie?  I baked four pies and a sheet of apple pie bars and solicited pies from volunteers so that I could make a pie buffet for the teachers at my kids’ school.  The baby and I spent the whole day at school refilling pie selections so that all the teachers would have a crazy special lunch.

Why?  For the love of pie (which I really do adore!), WHY?!?!

Maybe we have become blind to the every day joys that are in our daily lives.  Here is a list of just a few every day things that have made me smile TODAY:

The dog seeking out the perfect spot in the sunbeam on the deck
The baby doing the monkey toddle across the nursery to me when I went to pick her up
Bottom Middle looking back over her shoulder to blow me a kiss as she got on the bus
Key lime pie for lunch (told you I adore pie!)
Laughter of friends
The smell of clean laundry
The pear trees coming alive and blooming at the bottom of my street
The reminder of an old joke about the bark of a dog wood tree

Every day things that just bring a smile and a warmth to my heart.  Maybe that doesn’t qualify as joy to you.  Maybe that’s just “happiness.”  I would argue that enough happiness piled on top of itself becomes a source of tremendous joy.

Isaiah 55:12
For you will go out with joy
and be led forth with peace;
The mountains and the hills will break forth into shouts of joy before you,
And all the trees of the field will clap their hands.

I think so often we get this picture of joy in our heads and we think anything less than the mountains singing, isn’t joyful enough.   How about this?

157

Little on Christmas morning.

Joyful?  What about any one of these?

IMG_2938

Who doesn’ t love a wheelbarrow ride?

IMG_2964

Chocolate ice cream makes Bottom Middle happy!

IMG_3019

Top Kid and Bottom Middle getting ready to spend time with Pop!

Vacation 2011 484

Pop is always good for a smile!

 

Every day pictures that just make me smile!  Maybe we are looking too hard for joy.  Maybe it’s not in the holidays or birthdays or successes or accomplishments.  I believe that it is in the every day gifts God provides for us every day from the first breath we take to the blooming trees to even the awesome power in a thunderstorm.

Top Kid  just came home from a weekend retreat with a large group of children and leaders.  When I asked about her weekend I fully expected to hear all about all the activities they did and all the “fun stuff” and I got all that.  But then I heard more.  “And you know Mom, just for asking, God makes us new. How great is that?”

That is mountain singing joy, right there.  And I heard it on an every day Monday.

That's Top Kid in the middle.

That’s Top Kid in the middle.

 

About Sarah

I hate when people ask me "who are you?" because it points out to me that I am about as average as you can get. I am an at home mom of four children- three schoolage, and a toddler. That said, my world consists of laundry, vacuuming, washing dishes and cooking meals just like every other mom on the planet. So what makes me different? Why should you read this blog? Because I'm a mom just like you who struggles daily to see, follow and live the life God intends for me. If my struggle, walk, attempts and failures can help you on your path and walk, then I am doing what the Father has asked me to do. Amen? Amen and pass the Lysol!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Were those…Bunny Ears?!

  1. Michelle Gray says:

    You made my day, my friend! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

