Life as a Child

This parenting thing is hard!  And it gets even harder when you start to listen to what you are actually saying and portraying to your children.

“Why can’t you just do what I ask you to do when I ask you to do it?!”  That is usually used any time there is cleaning involved.

“How many times do we have to have this conversation?!”  This one can be used on so many levels but lately it has been when correcting inappropriate behavior.

“Do you have to be so insanely dramatic about it?  It’s really not that big of a deal!”  Ok, so one child in particular is in this phase right now and it is about to make. me. lose. my. mind!!

And then I feel a prick at my heart.  Kind of a Supernatural clearing of the throat you know.

Why haven’t you obeyed Me on that one small thing I asked you to do?  I know it might seem a little daunting and you can’t see the end result or how just doing it will improve your life.  But I know.  Please just do it.  Now. When I asked you to.

How many times do I have to convict you about that same sin, before you will surrender your will to Me and let Me free you? You’ve told Me you don’t like to be burdened with that worry but you keep picking it back up!  Put it down and let Me resolve it for you in My time.

Is it really as big a problem as you think it is?  Or are you straining at a gnat again?  Why won’t you just trust Me and know that not only do I have your best in mind, but I will make it happen for you.
diamond-mitch-silhouette-of-children-jumping-rope-outdoors[1]

I am beginning to understand more and more why Jesus called the children to Him and told the grown ups to back off.  Children will believe anything just because the person who is telling them is bigger and trustworthy.  Sometimes they are hard to even dissuade from that belief because “that particular person said it and they love me too much to lie to me.”

When Top Kid was about three, Daddy-O told her that eating too much sugar would make her grow hair on her belly.  She was slightly skeptical but then he showed her his belly and that was it.  Then he told her the only way to keep it from happening was to make sure you ate a ton of veggies because that stunted the growth of belly hair.  At the time I was on a real salad kick (right after Bottom Middle was born and trying to shed some baby weight), so Top Kid ran to me pulled up my t-shirt and confirmed that veggies do in fact stunt belly hair.  She was so convinced that I couldn’t keep green beans and peas in stock in our house for months!

Oh to have that child like faith!  The Person who loves me the most in the world said, “Come to me you who are weary and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28)
“Cast your cares upon Him, for He cares for you.” (I Peter 5:7)
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord. “plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

Lord,
Renew in me the faith of a child.  Restore the blind trust and honest belief that comes only from looking at the face of the One who has my very best at heart.  Help me live my life like a child.

 

About Sarah

I hate when people ask me "who are you?" because it points out to me that I am about as average as you can get. I am a mom of four children- from middle school down to kindergarten. That said, my world consists of laundry, vacuuming, washing dishes and cooking meals just like every other mom on the planet when I'm not at work. So what makes me different? Why should you read this blog? Because I'm a mom just like you who struggles daily to see, follow and live the life God intends for me. If my struggle, walk, attempts and failures can help you on your path and walk, then I am doing what the Father has asked me to do. Amen? Amen and pass the Lysol!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

