A Call to Prayer

Well, my house should get clean today.  When my heart is heavy with prayer, I tend to clean – a lot.  I don’t know why.  Maybe because while my hands are doing things by habit my mind can go where ever it pleases.

I would love for you all to join me.  Not at my house cleaning – although you are welcome to do that too! – but rather in prayer.  And if I may be so bold as to ask, please take today and pray for your church.

The shofar was sounded to call God’s people to attention because He had something to say or they needed to pray.

Our pastors and church leadership are facing an epic struggle right now.  In a world full of mega churches and podcasts and digital ministries, there is a regular Golden Corral buffet of choices for people from which to choose.  More than ever folks can pick who they want to hear and what they want to hear.  If I don’t like what my pastor has to say, I’m sure I can go to You Tube or Vimeo and find a pastor who will tell me something more comfortable and more in line with what I want to believe.  If the worship style of my church just isn’t doing it for me I can find another church whose worship will.

What if a pastor is asked by God to lead in a different direction or preach a sermon that is going to make people squirm in their seats?  What if the pastor is asked to make some people uncomfortable?  Would you ask your pastor to dodge God on your behalf?

And leaders, ask for prayers!  Perhaps not of the full congregation, though that is not out of the question, but most certainly of lay people who are gifted with intercession.  I know many church leaders look to Paul as an example of leadership.  Consider then that he askes his churches several times to pray for him and his fellow leaders.  (Ephesians 6:18-19; 1 Thessalonians 5:25; 2 Thessalonians 3:1 and 1 Timothy 2:14)

I have seen many people using social media ask people to pray for churches and church leaders in other countries where Christianity is persecuted violently.  Pray for them!  Pray for your own church as well where the enemy may actually be sitting two pews behind you spreading gossip and dissention.  Pray for the Sunday school leaders teaching the children downstairs that they may be refreshed and renewed.  Pray for your pastor.  Pray for your pastor’s wife and family.  Pray for your worship team.

When the Temple was completed, the Lord had a few words for Solomon.

2 Chronicles 7:12-16
The the Lord appeared to Solomon at night and said to him, “I have heard your prayer and have chosen this place for Myself as a house of sacrifice. If I shut up the heavens so that there is no rain, or if I command the locust to devour the land, or if I send pestilence among My people, and My people who are called by My name humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, will forgive their sin and will heal their land.  Now My eyes will be open and My ears attentive to the prayer offered in this place.  For now I have chosen and consecrated this house that My name may be there forever, and My eyes and My heart will be there perpetually.”

If God has chosen your church and placed you there, then you have a job to do.  Pray for your leadership; pray for your church.

About Sarah

I hate when people ask me "who are you?" because it points out to me that I am about as average as you can get. I am a mom of four children- from middle school down to kindergarten. That said, my world consists of laundry, vacuuming, washing dishes and cooking meals just like every other mom on the planet when I'm not at work. So what makes me different? Why should you read this blog? Because I'm a mom just like you who struggles daily to see, follow and live the life God intends for me. If my struggle, walk, attempts and failures can help you on your path and walk, then I am doing what the Father has asked me to do. Amen? Amen and pass the Lysol!
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Call to Prayer

  1. Blaqbutterfly says:

    Grace Sarah….grace!

Leave a Reply

