Cold Sheets

bedsheets photo: bedsheets DSC00739.jpgYou saw that title and you had one of two reactions.

“Man, I LOVE cold sheets!” or “Man, I HATE cold sheets!”  And that may be dependent on the season. 

In the winter I fall into the latter category.  I intentionally try to go to bed AFTER my hubby because he’s a blanket hog and if I wait just long enough he will have everything nice and cozy by the time I get there.  I can slide in, snuggle down, and be in dream land by the time my head hits the pillow.

In the summer I HAVE to be the first in bed.  I love nothing more than crawling into a set of cool, clean sheets after a long day in the sun with the kiddos.  All the heat of the day is just sucked right out of my bones and I am done!

The temperature of the sheets don’t really change.  They are just as cool in the winter as they are in the summer.  It’s the circumstances around them that change.

Consider God’s word.  Can’t the same be said?  We find some verses comforting and others convicting. 

When we have been wronged we love Exodus 21:24-25.  “Eye for an eye, tooth for tooth, hand for hand, foot for foot, burn for burn, wound for wound, bruise for bruise.”  But Matthew 5:39 “But I say to you, do not resist an evil person; but whoever slaps you on your right cheek, turn the other to him also” is a little harder to swallow.

We will embrace God’s forgiveness poured out in 1 John 1:9: “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”  One request and done!  But then we hear how we are to forgive others.

Matthew 18:21-22
Then Peter came to and said to Him, “Lord how often shall my brother sin against me and I forgive him? Up to seven times?”  Jesus said to him, “I do not say to you, up to seven times, but up to seventy times seven.”

I’m with Peter on this one (as I usually am).  If I have already extended seven rounds of forgiveness to you, we better be related by blood or marriage vows for me to make it 490!  But then I wonder – what if God stopped at 490?  Where would I be?

Here’s the best part.  None of these verses are more or less than true than any other.  They are all part of God’s word which, by the way, doesn’t change.  Like those sheets.  It is the state of our heart that changes and determines how we will receive what He is trying to teach us.  It is our spirit responding to The Spirit through the word and our filter of circumstance. 

I am so grateful that no matter my circumstances Psalm 103:17 rings true.
But the loving-kindness of the Lord is from everlasting to everlasting on those who fear Him and His righteousness to children’s children.

In the winter when I do happen to go to bed before hubs, I huddle up and gradually inch my legs down into the cold reaches of the bottom of the bed.  I’m sure you know what happens.  As I lay there, the cold fades away and the warmth grows.  So it is with those uncomfortable scriptures of the Bible.  As we surrender our spirit to The Spirit, those verses that once made us recoil in anger or self-righteousness or fear, now become a cocoon for us.  They become second nature and take root.  They may even begin to be the very verses that provide comfort.

About Sarah

I hate when people ask me "who are you?" because it points out to me that I am about as average as you can get. I am a mom of four children- from middle school down to kindergarten. That said, my world consists of laundry, vacuuming, washing dishes and cooking meals just like every other mom on the planet when I'm not at work. So what makes me different? Why should you read this blog? Because I'm a mom just like you who struggles daily to see, follow and live the life God intends for me. If my struggle, walk, attempts and failures can help you on your path and walk, then I am doing what the Father has asked me to do. Amen? Amen and pass the Lysol!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

