Along Came a Dragonfly

Have you ever just been in a brain fog?  You want to be in a good mood and nothing is really wrong with life but you still just feel off.  You can’t put your finger on exactly what is going on or why you feel the way you do but you know something is just not right. 

That’s how I woke up this morning.  Everyone was launched along our normal routines and checklists.  The morning chores were getting done but I was just foggy.  I knew I wanted to go running since the next two weeks are insane and I’m not sure when I will be able to get back out but I have a rule that I have to get my work done first.  Then Little Bit went off the rails and started her daily nap resistance procedures and the rule went out the window.  Laundry would just have to wait!

I took off as usual but today I was very aware of being by myself on the trail.  You would think that would be a wonderful thing for a mom of four who doesn’t get solo time unless she hides in the trunk of the minivan with all the lights off in the middle of the night.  But today by myself meant just a little twinge of lonely and it really surprised me.  So I ran and eventually I started to pass some people and gradually was seeing a pretty steady stream of other walkers, runners and bikers. 

Still I was by myself.  Others were on the trail with me but they weren’t by my side keeping my pace and matching my stride.  I eventually just felt a little heavy and decided to turn around and head back.  The run wasn’t getting rid of the fog so why keep going?  I was half a mile from the parking lot when my run tracker announced my time and distance and while I had gone further than before today, my pace had lost some steam.  It was a total fail of a run in my estimation.

But then this crazy dragonfly came along.  He zig zagged along the path ahead of the stroller and then looped around my head and darted behind me and did the same thing.  He would lead me for a little bit and then he would push me but every time he switched from front to back or vice versa he would loop around my head like he was trying to hug me.  At first it was really weird to me but then I thought about a friend who adores dragonflies.  She’s amazing!  I have never met her face to face but she is in my life and has touched me in ways she will never fully comprehend.  And thinking about her and who she is and what she does reminded me that by myself DOESN’T mean alone. 

Come back to my faith hero Joshua for a minute.  When God was handing the mantle of leadership to him after Moses’ death, He gave Joshua this assurance.

Joshua 1:5, 9
5.  No man will be able to stand before you all the days of your life.  Just as I have been with Moses, so I shall be with you; I will not fail you or forsake you. 
9.  Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous!  Do not tremble or be dismayed for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.

{Author note: I have something to say about those verses in between but that’s for another day!}

Joshua was in the middle of the largest nation of people on the planet but when the leader Moses died and God was telling Joshua, “They’re all yours now” he had to feel like the loneliest man on the planet.  We find ourselves connected to everyone all over the place now via that wonder called “social networking” but sometimes in all that connection we still feel like we are all alone.  Sometimes we can sit in the middle of a huge, gorgeous sanctuary full of people in worship and yet we feel like we are the only person on the pew.

But then The Spirit shows up to lead us along the path or to push us from behind by stirring our hearts to reach out to someone; to read a certain passage of scripture; to send a prayer up for someone without even knowing what is going on in their lives.  The Spirit circles us to provide peace that we are moving in the right direction and encourage us to emulate Paul.

Philippians 3:14
I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

I finished my run and as I came around the last corner I was suddenly surrounded by dragonflies.  All of them were different colors and sizes and they were flying in all different directions.  I was reminded that God is always wherever I am.  His Spirit speaks to me from within while I fold laundry.  He speaks through my friends – present and far away – with e-mails and phone calls.   He speaks through my worship experiences as I sit in His sanctuary.  

And He is with me on a running trail surrounded by strangers speaking through a crazy dragonfly.

About Sarah

I hate when people ask me "who are you?" because it points out to me that I am about as average as you can get. I am a mom of four children- from middle school down to kindergarten. That said, my world consists of laundry, vacuuming, washing dishes and cooking meals just like every other mom on the planet when I'm not at work. So what makes me different? Why should you read this blog? Because I'm a mom just like you who struggles daily to see, follow and live the life God intends for me. If my struggle, walk, attempts and failures can help you on your path and walk, then I am doing what the Father has asked me to do. Amen? Amen and pass the Lysol!
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

