20/20 Faith.

I know you think your friends are the coolest but I feel obliged to tell you that you are dead wrong.  Mine are the coolest.  The picture below is proof.  My dragonfly friend shared this picture yesterday and that makes her one of the single coolest people ever.

Isn’t that an awesome line?  “You never know what could be on the other side!”  It could be so incredibly awesome!  It could be better than you could ever dream!  It could be everything you ever wanted and more!  Let’s go!!

But then again….It could be horrifying.  It could be fraught with danger (love that word!) and peril.  It could be miserable and torturous.  Or worse yet, you may not make it to the other side!

Still inspired to step out?  This is what people call “blind faith.”  I think that phrase is a little silly actually.  Faith by Biblical definition is blind.
Hebrews 11:1
Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.

So if I choose to still step out onto this bridge into the foggy unknown, am I going to close my eyes and not watch where I’m going?  Of course not!  I’m going to make sure my feet go onto firm and secure boards.  I am going to hold on for dear life to those rope “banisters.”  Do I know what lies at the end?  No. But that doesn’t mean I’m blind to where I’m going and what I’m doing.  I’m going to the other side of this bridge.

I believe we can have “20/20 faith.”  If God asks me to step out into a mission or a service or invest myself in another person, I know that it will produce something.  Do I know exactly what it will produce?  Nope.  Do I know how long it will take to have its fruition?  Nuh uh.  Do I know what I will learn between here and there?  Negative.  But I know that there is an end result that is good. 

Philippians 1:6
For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus.

Perfect – like 20/20 vision.  I am blind as a bat with a sleep mask on if I don’t have my contacts in or my glasses perched on my nose.  God is able to use even imperfect me with right motives and all too often rash and completely incorrect words to make a perfect work in someone else’s life.  God adds lenses of love and His Spirit to my feeble attempts and makes them something significant and clear that can draw others to Him.  If I fit myself with prayer, study, scripture, and love, I have firm boards to step on and steady banisters to hang on to.

My current vision correction equipment is six years old and I can tell it is in need of a tune up.  I just dread that eye puffer thing that tests the eye pressure so I am dragging my feet. Oh, but sometimes that pressure test is what we need to fine tune our faith isn’t it?  Something to refocus us and keep us hanging on to the banisters.  A challenge to send us into a deeper prayer life.  A yearning to learn so we dig into our Bibles more.  A friend who pours love on us that we just can’t keep to ourselves.

So now, back to the bridge.  Your faith glasses are on; you are at the end of the bridge and God has asked you to step out.  You have no idea what you are walking through because of the fog and you have no idea how long the bridge is.  But you are assured that at the other end, there is something perfect waiting.

Go ahead.  You know there is something perfect on the other side.

About Sarah

I hate when people ask me "who are you?" because it points out to me that I am about as average as you can get. I am an at home mom of four children- three schoolage, and a toddler. That said, my world consists of laundry, vacuuming, washing dishes and cooking meals just like every other mom on the planet. So what makes me different? Why should you read this blog? Because I'm a mom just like you who struggles daily to see, follow and live the life God intends for me. If my struggle, walk, attempts and failures can help you on your path and walk, then I am doing what the Father has asked me to do. Amen? Amen and pass the Lysol!
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

