Uh, oh.

Little Bit has entered the toddler phase which means an age-old game that Mom is too smart to play anymore (or too tired. Take your pick).  It’s called Momma Fetch.    She throws her cup off her high chair and says, “Uh oh!” and she’s so cute about it.  Now my part is to pick up the cup and give it back so she can repeat the process and be cute again.

It’s so much fun!  Or not.  The Bigs seem to think they can teach her that throwing it on purpose is NOT an uh oh.  Good luck, gang.

Yesterday afternoon shortly after lunch I was cleaning out a closet and she tried to enter the same room.  The dog was between the two of us and she walked squarely into his butt.  I mean gaggable face into tail kind of walked into.  Did she “uh oh?”  Nope.  I’m beginning to think she doesn’t really get “uh oh.”

It’s very similar to the Bigs’ concept of “I’m sorry.”  See, in Mom’s book, “I’m sorry” means you feel badly enough about what you have done to apologize and avoid repeating the behavior.  It’s that second part that gets them.  They always want to apologize because hearing they are forgiven makes them feel better.  It’s the changed behavior that seems to be too tough.

We’re sorry we were too busy playing in the car to actually clean it out Mom.  But we’ll keep playing anyway until your head explodes.

I’m sorry I kept ringing the dinner bell in Bottom Middle’s ear even when she told me you wanted it upstairs.  But let me go ahead and hide it under the couch so I can ring it in the other ear when you walk away.

I’m sorry I was playing with the baby when you asked me to clean my room.  I’ll just bounce her on the bed 37 more times before you tell me for the third time that I need to clean my room.

I’m beginning to think they don’t get “I’m sorry.”

Romans 6:1-7
What shall we say then?  Are we to continue in sin so that grace may increase?  May it never be!  How shall we who died to sin still live in it?  Or do you not know that all of us who have been baptized into Christ Jesus have been baptized into His death?  Therefore we have been buried with Him through baptism into death, so that as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, so we too might walk in newness of life.  For if we have become united with Him in the likeness of His death, certainly we shall also be in the likeness of His resurrection, knowing this that our old self was crucified with Him, in order that our body of sin might be done away with, so that we would no longer be slaves to sin; for he who has died is freed from sin.

It’s a key of salvation that we admit we have done wrong and ask for forgiveness.  We have to tell God that we’re sorry.  But like my children, I think we sometimes don’t get it.  We ask for forgiveness but we go right back to our habits of disobedience. 

Sorry I wasn’t a good steward of my money Lord.  Wanna go to Loco’s for a chimichanga on our way to the Apple store for the latest iWhatever even though my iWhoosie still works just fine?

Sorry I was such a gossip this past week.  Did you see how out of control that 5 Minutes lady’s kids were at the grocery store?  She really needs to attend a parenting class!

Sorry I didn’t encourage my spouse last week.  I sure wish they would just volunteer to help me out more whether I ask or not.  How could they not be more in tune with me and my needs?!

If we are to take our salvation seriously, we have to have a change of direction.  An insincere “I’m sorry” makes us feel better but it doesn’t make us right with God.  We have died to those sins.   Notice – WE have died.  The sin hasn’t died.  But the part of us that embraced that sin has to change and die to the power of the sin in question.  Only then do we fully immerse ourselves in true grace.

Guess what?  That’s not in our power.  We can’t kill that sin loving part of us.  It is “through the glory of the Father {so} that we may walk in the newness of life.”  Once again we come to the concept of surrendering our will to God and allowing Him to work in that area.  Do we intentionally put ourselves in the path of that sin weakness?  Of course not!  I don’t hand Little Bit her cup back anymore.  I know that if she has thrown it, she’s done.  Giving it back is just encouraging the next throw.  I don’t walk away from the behavior my children are repeating without first redirecting, removing, or disciplining.  Or at least trying to!

So consider it for yourself.  When you say “uh-oh” or “I’m sorry,” do you REALLY get it?  Do you intentionally redirect your thoughts, behaviors, and attitudes? ‘Cause if not, you’re really just walking into the dog’s butt!

About Sarah

I hate when people ask me "who are you?" because it points out to me that I am about as average as you can get. I am an at home mom of four children- three schoolage, and a toddler. That said, my world consists of laundry, vacuuming, washing dishes and cooking meals just like every other mom on the planet. So what makes me different? Why should you read this blog? Because I'm a mom just like you who struggles daily to see, follow and live the life God intends for me. If my struggle, walk, attempts and failures can help you on your path and walk, then I am doing what the Father has asked me to do. Amen? Amen and pass the Lysol!
This entry was posted in Faith, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

