The Week #1 Recap.

So the Bigs have been out of school for a week and we have had our first “normal” week of summer break. 

Man, I hope that isn’t true.  I hope this past week wasn’t the normal for the summer.

I set a few goals each summer so please humor me as I review this week’s progress on our current ones.  First, get the house summer clean and keep it maintained.  After much wailing and gnashing and trash hauling and donating, I think I can mark at least the first half of that done.  We’ll see about the second.  I have a feeling I will be hearing “Sorry” a lot.

Our second goal was to establish some Bible time in our routine.  This has not gone well at all because I under estimated how long ev-er-y-thing takes now that we have a total lack of teamwork happening.  And because I went at it from the completely wrong angle.

The third goal was to get a lot of reading and math review done.  To quote a 90-year-old, pshaw!  We made it through our summer bridge books and that was about it.

Our final goal was to have a family game night at least two nights a week.  We made it four!!  Win for Mom!!  Thank you Parker Bros for Clue and Monopoly and thank you Daddy for taking Chinese Checkers night while I crashed with Little Bit.

So week #1…I think it’s safe to say it could have gone better.  Which is exactly why today’s verse gives me hope for next week.
Lamentations 3:22-26
The LORD’s lovingkindnesses indeed never cease, for His compassions never fail.  The are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness.  “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “Therefore I have hope in Him.”  The LORD is good to those who wait for Him, to the person who seeks Him.  It is good that he waits silently for the salvation of the LORD.

But I did notice that there is more waiting in there.  But then again, this is the summer for that!

Have a blessed and restful weekend!

About Sarah

I hate when people ask me "who are you?" because it points out to me that I am about as average as you can get. I am an at home mom of four children- three schoolage, and a toddler. That said, my world consists of laundry, vacuuming, washing dishes and cooking meals just like every other mom on the planet. So what makes me different? Why should you read this blog? Because I'm a mom just like you who struggles daily to see, follow and live the life God intends for me. If my struggle, walk, attempts and failures can help you on your path and walk, then I am doing what the Father has asked me to do. Amen? Amen and pass the Lysol!
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

