Comin’ or Goin’?

Remember back around Mother’s Day when I threw my poor mother under the bus by mangling “the best advice my mother ever gave me?”  Guess whose turn it is now!

“Honey,” my father would say, “Just remember – everyone is a blessing.  Some when they come and some when they go, but everyone is a blessing.”

This lesson has stuck with me in two ways.  Of course the first is to be long-suffering (please note I skipped that P word – that’s not working out so well for me right now) with people who are challenging.  We aren’t guaranteed that personalities will mesh or that people will always be positive thinkers like we are.   Those  might be the ones who bless you with their absence. 

This thought also helps me let go of relationships that aren’t adding anything uplifting to my life as well.  I think one of the hardest things for women to do – and I don’t doubt it’s tough for men but I don’t have the right chromosomes to speak for them – is to let go of friendships.  We think we can fix them; invest more.  We look for the places they went wrong and we try to find our part in the fall.  Sometimes we fail to realize that the blessing is in letting that go and embracing the peace or calm that comes behind.

Proverbs 18:24
A man of too many friends comes to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother. 

Partner that with Proverbs 17:17.
A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.
{Author’s note: I think this is Top Middle’s life verse – “See!  The Bible says so!”}

I’ll take the close friend over the brother any day!  It’s ok to let go of those people and take the blessing that is left behind.

Oh but the ones who are a blessing when they come!  Who is that person?  You know, the one who says they are popping by and you don’t even worry about cleaning the house!  You are more concerned with how long they can stay and do you have their favorite snacks on hand than with anything else.  You see their name and number on the caller ID and it doesn’t matter if your hair is on fire, the baby just peed on you, the dog just barfed and you have it between your toes – you WILL answer that phone!  Those people are blessings indeed.

I love this lesson from my father because not only does it put a clarifying lens over my outside relationships, it begs the question, “Which one am I?”  It makes me look at my behaviors and actions and attitudes and keep them in check.  Am I a blessing when I come or are people just looking forward to my departure? 

Proverbs 27:9
Oil and perfume make the heart glad, so a man’s counsel is sweet to his friend.

That’s the blessing of a person coming into our lives.  They are a sweet fragrance to us. 

So I pose this question to you.  Are you comin’ or goin’?  Remember you are a blessing either way!

About Sarah

I hate when people ask me "who are you?" because it points out to me that I am about as average as you can get. I am an at home mom of four children- three schoolage, and a toddler. That said, my world consists of laundry, vacuuming, washing dishes and cooking meals just like every other mom on the planet. So what makes me different? Why should you read this blog? Because I'm a mom just like you who struggles daily to see, follow and live the life God intends for me. If my struggle, walk, attempts and failures can help you on your path and walk, then I am doing what the Father has asked me to do. Amen? Amen and pass the Lysol!
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comin’ or Goin’?

  1. Sarah McCrory says:

    Thank you for teaching me this, preblog. Luv ya heart friend.

Leave a Reply

