Who Says We’re not Worthy?

If you answered Wayne and Garth, I have a friend who loves you!  But no, that wasn’t a Wayne’s World reference.

I had a moment at church last Sunday (before I got sidetracked by the whole name thing) when I felt completely unworthy to be in God’s presence.  I felt like a party crasher who suddenly realizes they are in the room and everyone is staring.  The feeling was so strong that I found myself on my knees with my arms over my head.  And now I wonder why Moses had to be told to take off his shoes on Holy ground.

I’ve had this experience twice before in my life when I have found myself face down in front of God hiding my eyes from His Glory and every time I question why He allows it.  Why would He give such a gift to someone like me?  I have done nothing special with my life or in His name.  I haven’t lived to the standard even I want much less what He asks.  Why would He allow me to enter into His presence much less stand outside His throne room?

But that is God.  Not only does He allow it – He wants it.  Which blows my mind even further.

Romans 5:6-8
For while we were still helpless, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly.  For one will hardly die for a righteous man; though perhaps for the good man someone would dare even to die.  But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

While we were yet sinners.  Before we even realized how messed up we were.  Before we understood we even had a need.  Before we got our act together.  Christ died for us. 

Before we got our act together.  I think so often I tell myself I can’t do this or that for God because I have habitual sins that need to be fixed first.  I can’t teach a class because I don’t know enough but without a reason to study, I won’t.  I can’t lead a small group because I don’t know who is going to be in it.  As if who it is makes it right for me or not.

And there’s another revelation about God.  He didn’t pick a select few to call worthy.

John 3:16 & 17
For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.  For God did not send the Son into the world to judge the world, but that the world might be saved through Him.

The world.  Not Americans or Europeans.  Not English speakers or those who know seven languages.  Not one skin tone or another.  The world.  Now some take that and start to compare themselves to others they know.  Well, that person is who Christ came for – not me.  They don’t have near the junk I have.  They are “the world.”  But imagine this – someone else is looking at that person and saying the same thing.

The world.  God looked at us in all our messed up lives with our act NOT together and still loved us.  He still called us worthy.  And worthy of the most precious thing we could comprehend.  The Son.  Maybe if you aren’t a parent, that doesn’t mean as much to you but I have a son.  Last night he had a stomach ache that had him doubled over and in tears and I was perfectly helpless to make it better.  My heart ached for him.  But God gave His Son for ultimate torture and death so that His sacrifice would make all ceremonial sacrifices obsolete.

God says we are worthy of such a gift.  And not worthy to earn it – worthy to just have it.

If that doesn’t blow your mind, you are more profound than I.

About Sarah

I hate when people ask me "who are you?" because it points out to me that I am about as average as you can get. I am an at home mom of four children- three schoolage, and a toddler. That said, my world consists of laundry, vacuuming, washing dishes and cooking meals just like every other mom on the planet. So what makes me different? Why should you read this blog? Because I'm a mom just like you who struggles daily to see, follow and live the life God intends for me. If my struggle, walk, attempts and failures can help you on your path and walk, then I am doing what the Father has asked me to do. Amen? Amen and pass the Lysol!
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

