The Wisdom’s Melody Project

I have mentioned several times that I am teaching a class this fall but I don’t think I ever really explained it.  My class is a Bible 101 class – basic intro to your Bible and how to study – for adults.  I found a hole that I think may be present in a lot of churches.  Some churches assume that if folks are in the seat on Sunday morning, they know how to use a Bible.  And if they don’t, we’ll give them some general direction on where the day’s scripture is and they can pick up from there.

Not good enough church.  Not good enough.  So I’m taking a group back to the basics.  Part of that trip is to start reading the Bible on a daily basis and developing a discipline of study, prayer, and journaling.  Yes, back to the basics.  And before you shake your head, try it.  Perhaps your faith walk could use a little reboot too.

And that brings us to The Wisdom’s Melody Project.  I have challenged my class to read five Psalms and one chapter of Proverbs every day.  We have adjusted for Psalm 119 when we get there so that no one’s brain will explode.  In a month (plus a day for adjustment), we will read through the entirety of both books.

This is your invitation to join us!  Follow my Twitter feed where I will post the assignments for each day and maybe highlight some of my favorite verses (#WisdomsMelody) throughout.  I’d love to hear from you here or on Twitter as you find new verses that make your heart sing or become re-aquainted with old friends.

Psalm 33:1
Sing for joy in the LORD; O you righteous ones; praise is becoming to the upright.  Give thanks to the LORD with the lyre; sing praises to Him with a harp of ten strings.  Sing to Him a new song; play skillfully with a shout of joy.  For the word of the LORD is upright, and all His work is done in faithfulness.

About Sarah

I hate when people ask me "who are you?" because it points out to me that I am about as average as you can get. I am an at home mom of four children- three schoolage, and a toddler. That said, my world consists of laundry, vacuuming, washing dishes and cooking meals just like every other mom on the planet. So what makes me different? Why should you read this blog? Because I'm a mom just like you who struggles daily to see, follow and live the life God intends for me. If my struggle, walk, attempts and failures can help you on your path and walk, then I am doing what the Father has asked me to do. Amen? Amen and pass the Lysol!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Wisdom’s Melody Project

  1. Deone e says:

    You rock Sarah. Love you tons sister In Christ.

Leave a Reply

