Come.

FB_IMG_1472095871990So here I am. It’s 9:53 pm. I have been at life since 5:27 am. The children are allshowered, brushed, kissed and tucked into their beds. And I’m finally making some hash browns for my dinner because I was so busy during “pizza time” this evening at church, I missed dinner all together along with 22 calls from my poor family.

And that familiar enemy Exhaustion has finally taken up residence. I’m ok with being tired, wiped, sleepy, and done for the day. Exhaustion is more than all of those. It’s all consuming. My emotions are wiped out. My body is tired. My brain is past sleepy and now in pure basic bodily function mode.

There hasn’t been time over the last month to be any of these and now that everything is done, they all came home to roost.

Matthew 11:28-30

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Come. Take one more step. God acknowledges that we are tired and weighed down and He still asks us to take one more step and come. That’s when we receive rest.

Take My yoke and learn from Me. When we were growing up we raised hogs and had to haul feed and corn across a wide open field to take care of them. If the load was uneven or one arm was carrying more weight than the other, we would have to stop halfway across and switch arms because we were to tired to go all the way. Take my yoke; my burden and learn how to carry it so that it doesn’t wear you out.

You will find rest for your souls. My soul needs rest right now. I have run from fear and uncertainty when Momma first got sick to anger and confusion when we learned how serious it was. I was devastated to learn nothing could be done and compassionate when we brought her home to hospice care. I saw unbearable heartbreak when I had to say goodbye and cathartic release when Daddy told me she was at rest at last.

Then peace. A peace that could not be explained and made everyone around me question my sanity even though they were too kind to say so. The peace was replaced with rejoicing as the impact of my mother’s too short life was revealed.

And now I am empty. Too tired to feel anymore and still required to put one foot in front of the other and take the next step.

So I come. And I will find rest. Because He promised.

About Sarah

I hate when people ask me "who are you?" because it points out to me that I am about as average as you can get. I am a mom of four children- from middle school down to kindergarten. That said, my world consists of laundry, vacuuming, washing dishes and cooking meals just like every other mom on the planet when I'm not at work. So what makes me different? Why should you read this blog? Because I'm a mom just like you who struggles daily to see, follow and live the life God intends for me. If my struggle, walk, attempts and failures can help you on your path and walk, then I am doing what the Father has asked me to do. Amen? Amen and pass the Lysol!
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

